Members

By Country

Argentina

Leonor Arfuch*, Universidad de Buenos Aires
Areas of Study: Biographical space; subjectivity and identities; memory and narrative; analysis of discursive and media genres; and art and visual cultures.
Email: larfuch@yahoo.com.ar

Australia

Gilllian Whitlock*, The University of Queensland, Brisbane
Areas of Study: Life narrative, testimonial narrative; postcolonialism and literary studies that focuses on the ways that genres, modes; and themes of life narrative are adapted, remediated, and appropriated in international markets for memoir and testimony.
Email: g.qhitlock@uq.edu.au

Brazil

Sergio Barcellos*, Capes Foundation from the Ministry of Education
Areas of Study: Brazilian life writing; diaries and journals; and memory and diary writing.
Email: barcellossergio@aol.com

Elizeu Clementino de Souza*, Universidade do Estado da Bahia
Areas of Study: Life history; teacher training; biographical (autobiographical) research; autobiographical approach; and training narratives.
Email: esclementino@uol.com.br

Suely Kofes*, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, São Paulo
Areas of Study: Ethnography and biographical perspective; trajectory, experience and narrative; anthropology; studies of culture and social theory; and processes of differentiation and recognition.
Email: suelykfs@yahoo.com

Canada

Laura Beard*, University of Alberta, Edmonton
Areas of Study: Indigenous literatures and cultures; women writers of the Americas; contemporary narratives; and life narratives.
Email: lbeard@ualberta.ca

Sarah Brophy*, McMaster University, Ontario
Areas of Study: Auto/biography; contemporary fiction; cultural studies and visual culture; social media and digital self-portraiture; embodiment; race, disibility, madness, gender, gender, class, and sexuality; affect, intimacy, and cultural memory; post-slavery and Black diaspora studies; and British literature and culture since 1945.
Email: brophys@mcmaster.ca

Eva Karpinski*, Glendon College of York University, Toronto
Areas of Study: Gender issues; women; cross-cultural studies; autobiography; translation studies and multilingualism; and feminism.
Email: evakarp@yorku.ca

Elizabeth Podnieks, Ryerson University, Ontario
Areas of Study: Modernism; motherhood studies; life writing; popular and celebrity culture; scholarly editing; and digital humanities.
Email: lpodniek@ryerson.ca

Julie Rak*, University of Alberta, Edmonton
Areas of Study: Auto/biography and life writing; popular culture; online forms of identity construction; and North American literature.
Email: julie.rak@ualberta.ca

Linda Warley*, University of Waterloo, Ontario
Areas of Study: Canadian literary studies in all genres (especially post-WWII to the present); auto/biography studies; and First Nations and Metis literatures.
Email: lwarley@uwaterloo.ca

Colombia

Gabriel Jaime Murillo Arango*, Universidad de Antioquia, Medallín
Areas of Study: Biographical research in education; narratives of experience and teachers’ life stories; and pedagogy of memory.
Email: murillogabriel86@gmail.com

Curaçao

Rose Mary Allen*, University of the Netherlands in the Antilles
Areas of Study: Cultural studies; social history; comparative history; diaspora; and historical analysis.
Email: allen_rm@onenet.an or adr550@hotmail.com

Jamaica

Donna Hope*, University of the West Indies at Mona
Areas of Study: Jamaican culture; music and dancehall culture; black masculinities and gender studies; cultural and creative industries; media studies; youth development; and popular culture.
Email: donna.hope@uwimona.edu.jm or dqueen13@hotmail.com

Germany

Alfred Hornung*, Johannes Guternberg University, Mainz
Areas of Study: Life writing; modernism; postmodernism; inter-, transcultural and transnational Studies; narratology; and literary theory.
Email: hornung@uni-mainz.de

Mexico

Gerardo Necoechea Gracia*, Escuela Nacional de Antropología e Historia, Mexico City
Areas of Study: History; anthropology; oral history; and Latin American history.

Puerto Rico

Ricia Anne Chansky*, University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Areas of Study: Auto/Biography studies; diasporic narratives; women’s literatures; feminist theory; transamerican studies; postcolonial theory; pedagogy; and visual culture.
Email: ricia.chansky@upr.edu

Jocelyn Géliga Vargas*, University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Areas of Study: Afro-Puerto Rican studies; oral history and testimonial writing; and social justice in higher education.
Email: jocelyna.geliga@upr.edu

Eric Lamore*, University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
Areas of Study: Slave narratives; African American narratives; Olaudah Equiano; the teaching of literature; life writing; and sport narratives.
Email: eric.lamore@upr.edu

Cruz Miguel Ortíz Cuadra, University of Puerto Rico at Humaco
Areas of Study: History of food and food culture; Puerto Rican history; and Latin American history.
Email: cruz.ortiz@upr.edu

United States

Tahneer Oksman, Marymount Manhattan College
Areas of Study: Visual culture; autobiography; women’s studies; and American literature.
Email: toksman@hotmail.com

William L. Andrews*, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Areas of Study: Formation of American literature; African American literature; and southern literature.
Email: wandrews@email.unc.edu

Bella Brodzki*, Sarah Lawrence College
Areas of Study: Critical and cultural theory; gender studies; postcolonial studies; translation studies; autobiography and life narrative; and modernist and contemporary fiction.
Email: bbrodzki@sarahlawrence.edu

Leigh Gilmore*, Wellesley College
Areas of Study: Autobiography; law and literature; and feminist theory.
Email: lgilmore@wellesley.edu

Joel Haefner*, Illinois Wesleyan University
Areas of Study: 
Email: jhaefner@iwu.edu

Emily Hipchen*, University of West Georgia
Areas of Study: Auto/biography; adoption narrative; and adoption studies.
Email: ehipchen@westga.edu

Joseph Hogan*, University of Wisconsin at Whitewater (retired)
Areas of Study: 
Email: hoganj@uww.edu

Rebecca Hogan*, University of Wisconsin at Whitewater (retired)
Areas of Study: 
Email: hoganr@uww.edu

Craig Howes*, University of Hawai’i at Manoa
Areas of Study: Biography and life writing; 19th-century literature; literary theory; drama and performance; research methods; and professional editing.
Email: craighow@hawaii.edu

Cynthia Huff*, Illinois State University
Areas of Study: Women’s life, especially writing; Victorian culture and science and its impacts; letters and diaries; using life-writing as a pedagogical resource; and familial self-presentation Animal Studies.
Email: cahuff@ilstu.edu

Joanne Karpinski*, Regis University
Areas of Study: 
Email: jkarpins@gmail.com

Joycelyn K. Moody*, University of Texas at San Antonio
Areas of Study: U.S. Antebellum narratives of slavery and freedom, 19th century Black women’s life narratives, African American feminist theories, Black print cultures, and African American visual culture.
Email: joycelyn.moody@utsa.edu

Sandra Pouchet Paquet*, University of Miami
Areas of Study: Caribbean Literature; African-American Literature; and Women’s Studies.
Email: sanpaquet@gmail.com

Sidonie Smith*, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Areas of Study: African American; American; gender and sexuality; postcolonial studies; law and literature; theory; travel; visual culture; women’s literature; autobiography studies; global and transnational; and twentieth-century American literature.
Email: sidsmith@umich.edu

Julia Watson*, Ohio State University
Areas of Study: Theorizing autobiography; life narrative; and feminist theory and women’s writing.
Email: watson.235@osu.edu

Kari J. Winter*, State University of New York at Buffalo
Areas of Study: Gender; feminism; race; class; slavery; politics of food; and literature.
Email: kwinter2@buffalo.edu

* Founding Member of IABA Americas

 

Advertisements